top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNYchatBox

Worthless Preseason

Updated: Aug 28, 2019

So I don't know whose been following, but we've come a long way since the draft. The tears from our 6th round draft pick have finally subsided, and it appears Dave Gettlemen might've actually been on to something with that good boy from Duke, Daniel Jones. I'll be the first to admit, I panicked when the Giants drafted Daniel Jones, I panicked so hard that I started a blog because no one wanted to listen to me weep, but I digress. I won’t deny that Daniel Jones has looked good through 3 preseason games, but let’s pump the damn breaks on all those insane media outlets and fans calling for him to start week 1.






Preseason Week 1 vs. Jets


We finally got to see this pretty boy Daniel Jones suit up and step on the field for a worthhless preseason snap. Since we’re desperate for some pigskin action, we’ve decided(as always) to give value to these worthless games. Of course DJ steps in and throws 5 for 5 with one of those passes being his first NFL TD, and everyone goes absolutely nuts. Look, it was an impressive drive and a great “feel good” moment to see Barkley celebrating with DJ coming off the field, but that’s where the DJ commotion should stop. The Kid plays one drive and some “fans“ who cried over him at the draft are now yelling for him to start week 1, insane!! The kid was on the field for 5 plays against a bunch of backups in a “light contact” preseason game, and some unfaithful morons are forgetting that we still have the best QB in Giants history (2-time Super Bowl MVP) on the team, bunch of morons, but again, I digress.


Week 2


Daniel Jones steps on the field and throws throws for 11/14 and once again, fans are cheering for him to take the job at QB1, completely overlooking the fact that he turned the ball over twice with two sloppy fumbles.


Week 3


With Week 3 of the preseason in the books, I‘ll admit, Daniel Jones has looked pretty good, and I’m starting to see a future franchise QB in DJ, but you‘re still nuts if you think he should start over Eli Manning. 3 good preseason performances doesn’t mean s**t in this business.


Bottom Line


I'll be the first to admit, Dave Gettemen might've been on to something when he fell in love with DJ at the senior bowl game. I'm not sure I have the same "full bloom love" that he experienced, but I gotta say, I'm getting there. That being said, as long as my guy Eli is still on the team, it wouldn't be right to dismiss my two time superbowl champ for some rookie who has yet to line up for a single snap of significance. There's been a lot of buzz around DJ's great preseason performance so far and how he's going to take the job from Eli mid season, and while I can see why fans would push for this ignorant change after such a dreadful 2018 season, I would urge them to take a deep look into why Eli may have seemed to play so poorly last season, and remember that he’s the same guy who went 2-0 against the GOAT (TB12) on the biggest stage in football. If that’s not enough for you to stand by Eli, you‘re senile.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page